Getting involved in a driving while intoxicated (DWI) case can be stressful, confusing, annoying and even scary in some instances. In such a situation, you’re likely to have different questions running through your mind. Some of the things that you may be wondering about include possible punishment or penalties, whether or not it’ll require the presence of a lawyer, or just how much trouble you may have attracted.
If you’re looking for answers to all these questions in the state of Texas, read on for more information regarding the same but keep in mind that it’s best to contact a licensed Texas DWI lawyer for legal advice. This writing shouldn’t be considered as legal advice. Before delving further into the details, you need to consider whether the debacle you find yourself in is the first, second, or third drunk driving offense. Here is a breakdown on what to expect in the different scenarios.
Call a Houston DWI Lawyer!
Contact an experienced and highly regarded DWI lawyer in Houston. Below, we’ve linked to a local DWI lawyer in Houston named Tad A. Nelson who has earned the respect of the Reddit community. He’s considered by many to be one of the best DWI lawyers in Houston. His phone number is 713-489-7373.
Drunk Driving Charges & Texas Law
First Houston DWI Incident
When you commit your first offense, the consequences aren’t as dire as on other levels. You should expect subjection to a license suspension that lasts for at least 90 days, but no more than 180 days. You aren’t likely to have to attend alcohol training or have to work with an ignition interlock device after your first offense. Nevertheless, there’s still a possibility of the court ordering the implementation of these measures.
Upon conviction in Texas for DWI, you’ll have to spend at least three nights behind bars, with the most prolonged period being 180 nights. On top of that, you’ll have to pay a fine of anything up to $2,000.00 dollars and an additional $1,000.00 dollars per year for three years if you want to retain your license. These penalties are more severe in instances where you have a minor on board or injuries occur as a result of drunk driving.
Second Houston DWI Incident
If you find yourself in this situation, brace yourself for harsher penalties. Fines could amount to $2,000.00 accompanied by a jail term of up to one year. Also, you’ll be subject to a two-year license suspension carrying a surcharge of $2,000.00 dollars per year. The court may also order you to attend a mandatory DWI program besides having you install an ignition interlock device in your car.
Third Houston DWI Incident
You should expect severe repercussions at this level. Fines could amount to $10,000.00 dollars and jail time may be anything between 2 and 10 years in state prison. License suspension should be a maximum of two years accompanied by a three-year $2000.00 annual surcharge. To top it all, attending a DWI education program and having an ignition interlock device are certainties in this case.
Words of Advice
Never plead guilty in a DWI case in Texas even if your breath test shows that you exceeded the legal alcohol limit. There’s the possibility that the kits used to test might’ve had a defect, which may give you a fighting chance in your case. With the help of skilled a DUI defense lawyer, A significant number of people wiggle themselves out of trouble in cases where the court finds breath tests to be inaccurate. Never plead guilty too early, and consider hiring a good attorney to help with the matter.